Monday, June 2, 2014

Iron King by Julie Kagawa - BOOK REVIEW

Title: Iron King
Author: Julie Kagawa
Series: Iron Fey, Book 1
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Release Date: February 2010
Format: Paperback
Pages: 363
Source: bought it
Rating: 5 stars

Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined.

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan's life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she's known is about to change.

But she could never have guessed the truth - that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she'll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil, no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.


What can I say about Iron King?? WOW- I am SO glad I picked up this book!!! LOVED IT!
I think I had this book sitting on my shelf for almost a year now, not really wanting to read it. I'm not really into the fairy-books much but boy, am I glad I read it. 

The story is about Meghan Chase a girl seemingly very normal at first glance, but going through the story Meghan ends up discovering her connection to the fey world. Her little brother Ethan, got kidnapped and taken into the fey world and Meghan is ready to do anything to get him back. When I was reading the parts with Ethan my heart sank at the thought of that cute little kid alone with vicious faeries. I had to glance at the last page(which I don't do anymore... too many spoilers) just to see if Ethan got back safely, or else I would be too preoccupied with his state rather than focusing on the story.

The story was fast paced, things happened... a lot! I believe Meghan got herself almost killed, a bunch of times throughout the book, which gave you nice action scenes and you got to see Ash in a few of them!!
By the way...I'm team ASH..(fanning herself) But you also got to see a lot of the fey, bad ones & good ones, and different kind of creatures that live in the Nevernever(fey world).

Meghan doesn't only have to worry about her brother but herself too, since she got to Nevernever pretty much everyone wants her. She has to stay alive and focus on finding Ethan without getting distracted from Ash...

Oh, Ash... I always liked seemingly cold characters that warm up to the potential love interest but Ash is pure ice...which I love!! He is the son of Mab, Queen of the Unseelie court and freeking produces ice from his hands!!!! I don't know why but when I see a character with a power that has to do with ice I instantly love them! (like Gray from Fairytail) Even though in reality I hate cold and ice lol.
In this book we get a glimpse of his character and a little of his back-story and I can't wait to see more of him in the next book The Iron Daughter. 

Overall I loved it and can't wait for the rest of the books, and mostly to see more of Ash....
Definitely pick it up if you are interested in paranormal books with a forbidden love story... my favourite!!!

Monday, May 12, 2014

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins - Book Review

Title: Hex Hall
Author: Rachel Hawkins
Publisher: Hyperion
Release Date: 2010
Format: paperback
Pages: 323
Source: bought it
My Rating: 3 stars

Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It's gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie's estranged father--an elusive European warlock--only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it's her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.

By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire student on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.

As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her.
(Taken from

I was looking forward to reading this book and I was excited after some of the reviews praising it so much.... but it felt short for me.

Halfway through the book the story felt like it hadn't really started yet, which I didn't like since the book isn't that long.

The romance for me was almost non-existence. It felt forced throughout the whole book. I mean, there were a few scenes between Sophie and Archer, but not enough of them spending time together to make you believe that they like each other. Sophie on the other hand declares she has a crush on him since he is extremely hot. And I don't doubt that, but I do doubt how that crush turned into love after a couple of months of barely any interaction. They do spend a lot of time together but we, as readers don't get to see much of that time together, so I didn't really feel the love there.

Another thing I really wish I could see was the school. I was so excited about this school full of supernatural kids, going to this school that was on an island to learn their magic that I was jumping up and down. It's no secret that I LOVE Harry Potter and thought that this might be a tiny bit similar to it but not really. Just the aspect of having a school full of paranormal creatures had me in high hopes.

I wish I could have seen more of those defence classes, which Sophie spends all her time with Archer. We would get to know the cool stuff they're learning and see the two of them interact more. Or even see Sophie learning new magic tricks and learn more about her abilities.

On a side note, Sophie's only main interaction with a male student is Archer. She does have a little incident with a male shape-shifter and with the healer of the school but other than that we don't get to see her interacting with other guys which just seemed off to me. I never pay attention to stuff like that but it just seemed weird for some reason. She also doesn't have many friends so it could be that, and that I'm reading too much into it.

Overall I enjoyed it. I love anything that has to do with magic in general. I just expected a bit more I think in the love department at least, but I'm keeping my hopes high for the sequel Demonglass.

Saturday, May 10, 2014

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West - BOOK REVIEW

Title: The Distance Between Us
Author: Kasie West
Publisher: Harper Teen
Release Date: July 2013
Format: Paperback, 312 pages
Source: My Local Library
My Rating: 3 stars

Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she's beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out—she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about. (Taken from

My Review
The Distance Between Us didn't really do much for me.
It is a cute short book about Caymen meeting this rich guy, Xander, and eventually falling for him against her wishes. Caymen and her mom don't like rich people and for a reason, so the only interaction they have with them is through the doll shop her mom owns.

This was a cute read. It felt very short in my opinion, I would have liked to see more in the story. The romance didn't convince me, maybe because the story was short. Like Caymen I didn't trust Xander at the beginning and there were some indications throughout the book that made me mad and wondered what she saw in him. He did though have a nice smile. :) 

I was quite disappointed in the end, not that the story didn't end up well but I would have liked to see how the characters were doing a month or so after those events. We know from the beginning that the store is not going well so I would have liked to see what happens with the store. 
Also we meet some new characters at the end, from her mom's past which I totally didn't see coming. I knew at the end someone would come forward but definitely not them.

Overall the book was ok. It's a quick read perfect for summer reading. I would suggest it to anyone who likes short contemporary stories about the rich and not. 

Friday, May 9, 2014


Let me say and ask myself why the heck I have not read this yet???? well I know why....

I haven't picked up Divergent by Veronica Roth because of all the hype... I admit I'm afraid of picking up books with so much hype around them. I just don't like disappointing myself....

So I decided to watch the movie and maybe borrow the first book from the library to see If I would enjoy it. I was almost certain I would not enjoy it. Well... the movie I very much enjoyed.

Now I went to this knowing nothing about the story except for Tris and Four, which I knew were the main characters but nothing more.

Now, I'm not going to say anything about the plot because I don't want to spoil it for anyone, but only that the ending left me wanting more. Honestly I have no idea what it's going to happen next. My mom was surprised to know there are two more books to the story. I would be too if I hadn't known. It ended quite well. I'm really looking forward to the books and next movies. Oh, can we all agree how handsome Four is?? ;)

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Monthly Status Update - April

This month I didn't manage to read a lot. I only read three books. I'm really hoping to read 4 books at least a month, that's my goal for May at least. So anyways let's get to the books:

So in April I read 2 books and 1 manga:

The Earl & the Fairy by Mizue Tani  -  5 stars
Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost  -  5 stars
The Distance Between Us by Kasie West  -  3 stars

Now to the books I plan on reading for May and hope I do!


Splintered by A.G. Howard - I am still reading this one since last month so I really hope to finish it this time. The story is very interesting but I can't seem to get into it.
Brida by Paulo Coelho - This one came from my TBR jar. After years of owning this book it's finally time to read it.

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa - YES!! I am so glad I started this book! I have heard so many good things about it. It has been sitting on my shelves the last 14 months!!!! I have already started this book and I'm loving it so far!

Sean Griswold's Head by Lindsey Leavitt - Another book from my TBR jar. I believe I won this a year or two back from a blog and I really wish I remembered.... but it's ok since this sounds like a nice read. I have been meaning to read more contemporary so I guess it's good timing. 

SO what's your reading update??

Friday, April 4, 2014

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout - Book Review

Title: Obsidian (Lux #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Release Date: 2012
Format: Kindle e-book
Source: Bought it
My Rating: 4 stars

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I'd pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring.... until I spotted my hot neighbour, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something...unexpected happens. 

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon's touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I'm getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. 
If I don't kill him first, that is. (Taken from


It's been a while since I read any books and I am glad I grabbed this one to start with. I really needed a good fast paced book to get me into reading again and this delivered.

Obsidian is the first book of the Lux series. So far 4 books have been published and #5 is on its way.

I must say that I don't really like books about aliens so much. Never thought I would pick up an alien book and didn't quite realize either what this book was about at the beginning. Someone raved how good this book was, plus it was cheap on Kindle... so here I am, glad I picked it up. 

Obsidian is a fast paced story which I enjoy nowadays... and all the characters are enjoyable. Thankfully there was no annoying best friend to the main character which I hate the most. Katy, our main character, is pretty much in love with books (like we all are of course!) and you see that with her own book blog please! She is an enjoyable character, way too obsessed with Daemon if you ask me, but she is going through the whole process of 'I hate you but not really' and that's too frustrating watching as an outsider since they clearly like each other.

Daemon is still quite a mystery to me... not sure if I like him just yet. He was quite an asshole in the beginning which I guess he had his reasons but still.... he better step up his game on the second book in order to convince me! He does sound hot though ;)

I can't say much about the story without spoiling it and you get the main idea from the synopsis, but I can say it has the typical new girl in town full of weird things and then she discovers the school's hottest guy is an alien. Then story gets serious and things get real.

Overall I enjoyed it and can't wait for the second book. I would suggest picking up this book even if you are hesitant about the aliens thing. Honestly half way through the book I didn't care if it was about aliens or not because the story kept me from leaving. It was good! I know the second book will be even better and can't wait to find out what happens next!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...